Standing Committees

Nominations and By-Laws Committee

This Committee shall annually review and propose amendments to the Association’s By-Laws, in consultation with the Board of Trustees. The Committee shall make recommendations to the Board of Trustees for the nomination of Officers and Trustees of the Association consistent with Article VII.

(Executive Committee Liaison – Mitch Katz)

John P. Langan, Esq.
President-Elect
Barclay Damon LLP
315-425-2754
jlangan@barclaydamon.com

Michael J. Murphy, Esq.
Capital District Chair
Carter, Conboy, Case, Blackmore, Maloney & Laird, P.C.
518-465-3484
mmurphy@carterconboy.com

Doreen A. Simmons, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Hancock & Estabrook, LLP
315-471-3151
dsimmons@hancocklaw.com

Continuing Legal Education Committee

This Committee is responsible for organizing, and scheduling Continuing Legal Education Programs after consultation with the President and Board of Trustees.

(Executive Committee Liaison – Mitch Katz)

Adam J. Katz, Esq.
Capital Region Chair
United States Attorney’s Office
518-431-0247
adam.katz@usdoj.gov

Brian J. Butler, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Bond Schoeneck & King, LLP
315-218-8160
butlerb@bsk.com

Criminal Practice Committee

This Committee shall serve to address general issues related to criminal practice issues as requested by the President, Board of Trustees, the Members of the Association or the Chief Judge of the Northern District of New York.

(Executive Committee Liaison – Paul Sweeney)

John Casey, Jr., Esq.
Capital Region Co-Chair
Dreyer Boyajian, LLP
518-463-7784
jcasey@dreyerboyajian.com

Albert J. Millus, Esq.
CNY Region Co-Chair
Hinman Howard & Kattell LLP
607-231-6724
amillus@hhk.com

Local Rules & Federal Practice Committee

This Committee shall serve in an advisory capacity with respect to reporting to the Board of Trustees and the membership at large of proposed developments in the Federal Rules of Civil and Criminal Procedure and the Local Rules and Procedures of the Northern District of New York. The Committee shall also address matters of general practice as requested by the President, Board of Trustees or the Chief Judge of the Northern District.

(Executive Committee Liaison – Jeff Hurd)

Adam J. Katz, Esq.
Capital Region Chair
United States Attorney’s Office
518-431-0247
adam.katz@usdoj.gov

Karen S. Southwick, Esq.
CNY Region Chair

Historical and Honorable James R. Duane Committee

This Committee shall serve in an advisory capacity with respect to the assemblage, display, publication and dissemination of documents or artifacts, which relate to the Northern District of New York and from time to time shall make recommendations to the Board for special recognition of Members of the Association and nominations for the Honorable James R. Duane Award.

(Executive Committee Liaison – Paul Sweeney)

Donald W. Boyajian, Esq.
Capital Region Chair
Dreyer Boyajian LLP
518-463-7784
dboyajian@dreyerboyajian.com

Edward R. Conan, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Bond, Schoeneck & King, LLP
315-218-8313
conane@bsk.com

Hon. Frederick J. Scullin, Jr. Scholarship Committee

(Executive Committee Liaison – Jeff Hurd)

Jeffrey E. Hurd, Esq.
Capital Region Chair
Burke, Scolamiero, Mortati & Hurd, LLP
518-862-1386
jeff@bsmhlawfirm.com

Doreen A. Simmons, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Hancock & Estabrook, LLP
315-471-3151
dsimmons@hancocklaw.com

Deborah Moore, Esq.
United States District Court, Northern District of New York
315 234-8564
Debbie_Moore@nynd.uscourts.gov

Technology and Information Systems Committee

This Committee shall serve in an advisory capacity with respect to the planning and implementation of technology and information systems proposed by or utilized by the Northern District of New York. It also shall be responsible for providing advice, as requested by the President and Board of Trustees, regarding the Association’s technology and information systems, including the Association’s website and electronic means of communication.

(Executive Committee Liaison – John Langan)

Adam R. Shaw, Esq.
Capital Region Chair
Boies Schiller & Flexner, LLP
518-434-0600
ashaw@bsfllp.com

Eric C. Nordby, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Porter Nordby Howe LLP
315-477-9900
enordby@pnhlawyers.com

Public Relations and Membership Committee

This Committee is responsible for promoting new members. The Committee, in conjunction with the Board Secretary, is responsible for notifying the membership of the Association of all scheduled activities of the Association, changes in practice or procedure in the Northern District of New York, news or information about the courts, or any matters requested by the President, Board of Trustees or Chief Judge of the Northern District of New York.

(Executive Committee Liaison – John Langan)

Adam R. Shaw, Esq
Capital Region Chair
Boies Schiller & Flexner, LLP
518-434-0600
ashaw@bsfllp.com

Gabriel M. Nugent, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Barclay Damon LLP
315-425-2836
gnugent@barclaydamon.com

Pro Bono Committee

(Executive Committee Liaison – Michael Sciotti)

David M. Cost, Esq.
Capital District Chair
Barclay Damon LLP
518-429-4286
dcost@barclaydamon.com

Ed Conan, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Bond, Schoeneck & King, LLP
315-218-8313
conane@bsk.com

First Decade Committee

This Committee shall address issues related to newly-admitted attorneys and to provide mentorship opportunities, appropriate education programs and social events to encourage and develop new practitioners in the Northern District of New York.

(Executive Committee Liaison – Yvonne Hennessey)

Alaina K. Laferriere, Esq.
Capital District Chair
New York State and Local Retirement System
518-486-3199
alaferriere@osc.state.ny.us

Lauren Owens, Esq.
Capital Region
Dreyer Boyajian LLP
518-463-7784
lowens@dreyerboyajian.com

Jason C. Halpin, Esq.
CNY Region Chair
Barclay Damon LLP
315-425-2866
jhalpin@barclaydamon.com

Anne LaFex, Esq.
United States District Court, Northern District of New York
315-234-8620
Anne_LaFex@nynd.uscourts.gov